Moving In Intimate Communion

Standard

Moving In Intimate Communion

As I slowly hobble toward You –
Toward all that You are –
Grant me straightened paths.

For I am weak and weary.
My feet are crooked and pained.
My joints are maimed and injured.

I am bowed low and bent over
From the sheer weight
Of my burden and misery.

But You have enveloped me
In Your Grace, Mercy and Love.
I am safe, warm, and protected.

This path has been prepared
For me by Your very own Hand
From before the beginning of time.

Every difficult cautious step I take
Results in a little more healing,
A little more strengthening.

I move in intimate communion
Ever closer to Your Heart
A little deeper into all You are.

Empower my weak and feeble knees.
Grant me all I need to keep moving
Ever forward toward You.

~ Laurie Pontious-Andrews

Hebrews 12:12-13 – Prayer

So then, brace up and reinvigorate and set right your slackened and weakened and drooping hands and strengthen your feeble and palsied and tottering knees, And cut through and make firm and plain and smooth, straight paths for your feet [yes, make them safe and upright and happy paths that go in the right direction], so that the lame and halting [limbs] may not be put out of joint, but rather may be cured.

About unabashedhope

The name Unabashed Hope comes from my favorite poem by Emily Dickinson. Unabashed means not embarrassed, disconcerted or ashamed. I believe Emily's poem, Hope is the Thing with Feathers, says it best: Hope is the thing with feathers That perches in the soul, And sings the tune without the words, And never stops at all, And sweetest in the gale is heard; And sore must be the storm That could abash the little bird That kept so many warm. I've heard it in the chilliest land And on the strangest sea; Yet, never, in extremity, It asked a crumb of me.

Leave a Reply

