Dear Mom… For those who are estranged from their Mom

Standard

On behalf of those who are estranged from their Moms – because we have a heart for our Moms too. ❤️

Dear Mom,

I know you won’t see this because we are no longer a part of your life. Although this hurts and saddens me, I trust that God is carefully watching over you and taking care of you.

I think about you, especially on days like today. A day set aside to honor mothers of every race and creed.

I wish I could tell you how much I appreciate the sacrifices you made as a young mother while your husband was fighting in a war that, to this day, makes little sense.

Living the life of a military wife and mother is hard. Dad was gone anywhere from six months to a year at any given time. It must have been very difficult raising two daughters on your own not knowing if your husband would even make it safely back home.

I wish I could thank you, for making sure that we grew up in church. From a very young tender age, I began to have a heart for the Lord. This was because you made sure we we attended regular services.

I wish I could thank you for putting me in the church’s preschool. By attending a Christian school, I was taught daily about God by others who also loved Him.

I wish I could thank you for the Biblical foundation you laid in the my early years, which allowed me to know God and place Him at the center of my life. This has been imperative for me to be a good Mama to our daughters.

And they are beautiful, Mom. I wish you could know them. They are both so different, possessing different gifts, talents and abilities. I believe you would be honored by the young women they are both becoming.

I wish you could know just how wonderful a husband Bo is. He has taken good care of me, Mom. He is a good father to our daughters. They have never doubted his love for them. He is a good man. Caring. Faithful. Godly.

I wish you could see the woman I have become – as a wife and a mother. But more than that – as a person.

I wish I could share all of this and more with you – my Mom…

I love you and pray that in some way, God will bless you with a happy Mother’s Day. I pray He would show you that you are loved and that you are missed…

Forever your daughter,
Laurie

About unabashedhope

The name Unabashed Hope comes from my favorite poem by Emily Dickinson. Unabashed means not embarrassed, disconcerted or ashamed. I believe Emily's poem, Hope is the Thing with Feathers, says it best: Hope is the thing with feathers That perches in the soul, And sings the tune without the words, And never stops at all, And sweetest in the gale is heard; And sore must be the storm That could abash the little bird That kept so many warm. I've heard it in the chilliest land And on the strangest sea; Yet, never, in extremity, It asked a crumb of me.

Leave a Reply

