Intolerance

Standard

Forgive me. I’m going to stand on a little soapbox for a moment, if it’s okay. I don’t understand. Maybe you can help me out.

There’s a cry for help for girls who have been abducted and taken to only God knows where. So posts go up all over social media asking, no, begging, for intervention. And I am right there in the mix – praying, interceding, posting, sharing, forwarding… This is a good thing, right? A heartfelt, compassionate desire for any and all kinds of help. But reading through some of the posts within the posts there is an outright attack against those who say they are praying for the daughters and their families. God – is attacked for being impotent, unfeeling, absent and, therefore, non-existent. Individuals – are attacked for believing and crying out to Him on behalf of the victims and chided as idiots for calling out to a non-existent God.

HGTV has caved under pressure and fired the Benham brothers (Flip It Forward). They were let go because “off-screen” they are active in their personal beliefs. Yes, they are Christians who publicly oppose abortion and same-sex marriage. But – wait a second – aren’t they allowed their personal private “off-screen off- air-HGTV” beliefs?

Aren’t we all?

Why is it that tolerance and acceptance is only extended to those whom the mainstream declares to be in the right and, therefore, of worth and value?

Doesn’t tolerance cease to be tolerance if ANY group is mocked and cajoled for their personal beliefs?

Forgive me, but I must ask – is bullying acceptable if it’s aimed towards a mother who says she is earnestly praying for another mother whose daughter has been abducted by a radical extremist group – no matter what religion they declare to be under?

Is wrong not wrong anymore?

Is black, white? And white, black?

Have we lost our common sense and reason?

Are we really just some great big herd of sheep bleating at whatever screams and shouts the loudest and flashes the brightest colors?

Here it is – like it or not.

I am a Born Again Spirit-Filled Christian. I genuinely love The Lord. Yes, The Lord. His name, is Jesus. My Savior. His Father, is God. The God. Capital G. I pray. And ya know what? I believe He not only hears my pleas but He answers. In fact, I have seen Him answer.

I honestly grieve for those who are hurting. I grieve for those who are abused – no matter what their creed, color, or, God help me, religion. Yeah, that’s right, religion. I grieve for those who declare that there is no God as earnestly as I do for those who claim their god is about the destruction of those whose God is Jehovah. I believe that Christ died for ALL and that it is His will that ALL be saved.

If that makes me an idiot. So be it.

If that makes me a right wing radical. So be it.

The truth is, I accept you. I love you. I pray for you. And I have compassion for you.

If you believe that makes me intolerant well I must not understand what intolerance really is.

If you feel you need to unfriend me – I understand. But this is my personal belief statement and I believe I have the freedom, just as equally as you, to believe as I personally choose to.

༺༒༻

About unabashedhope

The name Unabashed Hope comes from my favorite poem by Emily Dickinson. Unabashed means not embarrassed, disconcerted or ashamed. I believe Emily's poem, Hope is the Thing with Feathers, says it best: Hope is the thing with feathers That perches in the soul, And sings the tune without the words, And never stops at all, And sweetest in the gale is heard; And sore must be the storm That could abash the little bird That kept so many warm. I've heard it in the chilliest land And on the strangest sea; Yet, never, in extremity, It asked a crumb of me.

Leave a Reply

