“We need to face rock bottom alone.”

Standard

“We need to face rock bottom alone. ”

I have been there. Three years ago I realized I flat out couldn’t do it anymore. I wanted to disappear. I stopped absolutely everything I was doing as a workaholic, people pleasing, codependent, enabling, unable to say “no”, perfectionist… I could go on, but you get the idea. I started seeing a therapist weekly (still am). I have come a very long way, and it has been incredibly difficult and painful. I have decluttered relationships, my life, my home, and countless other things. It’s been quite a journey and I am still in process. It’s so awesome knowing even when you’re alone that you’re not really alone. Maybe no one you know understands what you’re going through but there are others out there who do. Maybe that’s a very small thing but it offers great comfort to a heart that is doing the brave, hard work of healing.

“When we stop fighting with ourselves, beating ourselves up because we can no longer function as we are used to doing, it clears the way for the next stage of our lives. Deep despair signals that deep inner work needs to be done, work which has the potential to raise us to a new level in our lives. It’s a lonely road, but we can make it less lonely by walking it deliberately and embracing the small supports that can help us through.”

For more, click the link.

http://www.elephantjournal.com/2014/04/why-we-need-to-face-rock-bottom-alone-freya-watson/

About unabashedhope

The name Unabashed Hope comes from my favorite poem by Emily Dickinson. Unabashed means not embarrassed, disconcerted or ashamed. I believe Emily's poem, Hope is the Thing with Feathers, says it best: Hope is the thing with feathers That perches in the soul, And sings the tune without the words, And never stops at all, And sweetest in the gale is heard; And sore must be the storm That could abash the little bird That kept so many warm. I've heard it in the chilliest land And on the strangest sea; Yet, never, in extremity, It asked a crumb of me.

3 responses »

  1. That’s such an interesting idea but very true. We need to be at our lowest and most vulnerable to realize how strong we truly are. I’ve actually written a post based on the line I wrote ‘you’re making a life out of what most consider rock bottom’, which really stands out to me. Feel free to give it a read, http://youngntwenty.wordpress.com/2014/03/17/467/

    • Wow. So very true. I totally get what you are saying. Even those who love us best can’t understand. I mean how can I explain it to you when I can’t even understand it myself? When I first really hit bottom, people kept trying to fix me. Not for “me” mind you but for themselves because my pain made them uncomfortable. It was better for me that they just “go”. Those who really loved me were able to just let me “be”. Be – quiet. Be – in pain. Be – alone. Be – angry. Be – whatever I needed to “be” in the moment. It’s hard but I’m glad I have hung in there. Three years and the people who are in my life now are real and really love me for me not for what I can do for them. Ya know? That’s a good place to be. 😊

Leave a Reply

