A Deeper Place

Standard

A Deeper Place

Lies buried deep
How they strangle
And restrain me.

Things dealt with long ago
Rise up with unbridled fierceness
And an even greater rage.

These things must be
Brought to the surface
For healing and truth to come.

Still, the process is one
Of extreme pain
And bitter ugliness.

Haunting dreams of
The past mingled with
The hope of the future.

Powerlessness, stupidity,
Fear, isolation, and anger
Spinning out of control.

You behold me
As no one else can.
The real me.

The frightened me.
The unfulfilled
And desperate me.

The one who is
So tired of stealing
Yet steals all the more.

I will keep my eyes
Fixed upon You
My only hope.

~ Laurie Pontious-Andrews

About unabashedhope

The name Unabashed Hope comes from my favorite poem by Emily Dickinson. Unabashed means not embarrassed, disconcerted or ashamed. I believe Emily's poem, Hope is the Thing with Feathers, says it best: Hope is the thing with feathers That perches in the soul, And sings the tune without the words, And never stops at all, And sweetest in the gale is heard; And sore must be the storm That could abash the little bird That kept so many warm. I've heard it in the chilliest land And on the strangest sea; Yet, never, in extremity, It asked a crumb of me.

Leave a Reply

