Safe Haven

Standard

Safe Haven

Safe haven.
I’ve never known it.
I dwelt among strangers
Who pretended and
Were anything but real.
I dwelt among those
Who treated me as
An enemy and vented their
Anger and frustration on me.

All that happened.
All that was done.
All that was said.
You saw.
You were there.
You covered me.
You understand me in ways
I can’t begin to fathom.
You know my hurt.
It touches Your heart.
You know the pain
Because You bore it for me.

Don’t let me hide.
Don’t let me cower
Behind another lie,
Another fear.
Keep working with me.
Keep loving me.
Keep holding my hand
Leading me out of this dark,
Miserable pitiable place.

~ Laurie Pontious-Andrews

About unabashedhope

The name Unabashed Hope comes from my favorite poem by Emily Dickinson. Unabashed means not embarrassed, disconcerted or ashamed. I believe Emily's poem, Hope is the Thing with Feathers, says it best: Hope is the thing with feathers That perches in the soul, And sings the tune without the words, And never stops at all, And sweetest in the gale is heard; And sore must be the storm That could abash the little bird That kept so many warm. I've heard it in the chilliest land And on the strangest sea; Yet, never, in extremity, It asked a crumb of me.

Leave a Reply

