Faithfulness

Standard

Faithfulness

Thank You for carrying me.
I know You so often do
And I rarely realize or see it.

I fight, I cry, I kick and scream –
But You never leave.
You never abandon.

And when, at last, I finally
Come to the end of myself
You scoop me up
In Your gentle, loving arms
And carry me to the next place.

Thank You for Your Love,
So rich, so vast, ever flowing.
A Love I cannot even begin
To comprehend or fathom.

I take You for granted
So often and yet
You still remain –
Ever-true, ever-faithful
By my side.

When others have so readily
Abandoned and forsaken,
Why do You remain?

It is something beyond
My ability to ever understand.

I love You so much –
Mere words fall horribly short.
You are everything to me.

Comfort me in my grief.
Heal my bleeding wounds.
Be my Great Physician.

Thank You for leading me Home.
It’s where I want and long to be.
Right where You are –
Healthy, whole, and free.

~ Laurie Pontious-Andrews

About unabashedhope

The name Unabashed Hope comes from my favorite poem by Emily Dickinson. Unabashed means not embarrassed, disconcerted or ashamed. I believe Emily's poem, Hope is the Thing with Feathers, says it best: Hope is the thing with feathers That perches in the soul, And sings the tune without the words, And never stops at all, And sweetest in the gale is heard; And sore must be the storm That could abash the little bird That kept so many warm. I've heard it in the chilliest land And on the strangest sea; Yet, never, in extremity, It asked a crumb of me.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

