Confrontation

Standard

Confrontation

There you are.
Hiding behind the lies.

Has it helped?
Have things gotten better?
Is life as glorious as you
Keep pretending it is?
Are you really fulfilled and happy?

I didn’t think so.
But the truth is
You’ll never be honest enough
To tell me the truth and answer
Those penetrating questions.

So here’s where I am.
Far from you.
Far from the pain
You inflicted on me.
Far from your painful touch.
Far from your lying lips.

Am I happy about your choice
To remain behind the lies?
No.
But it is your choice.

Am I happy with my life?
Yes.
Has separating myself
From you helped me?
Yes.
Have things gotten better for me?
Yes.
Is life growing more and more glorious?
Yes.
Am I growing more and more
Fulfilled and happy?
Yes.

Am I happy with my choice
To separate myself from your lies?
Absolutely.
I don’t want to pay for you anymore.
And there is nothing you could say
To me that would cause me
To rethink my decision.

Hope you’re happy now.
But I know you’re not.

~ Laurie Pontious-Andrews

About unabashedhope

The name Unabashed Hope comes from my favorite poem by Emily Dickinson. Unabashed means not embarrassed, disconcerted or ashamed. I believe Emily's poem, Hope is the Thing with Feathers, says it best: Hope is the thing with feathers That perches in the soul, And sings the tune without the words, And never stops at all, And sweetest in the gale is heard; And sore must be the storm That could abash the little bird That kept so many warm. I've heard it in the chilliest land And on the strangest sea; Yet, never, in extremity, It asked a crumb of me.

Leave a Reply

