You Were There

Standard

You Were There

When I was ridiculed,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I was ignored and regarded as nothing,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I was cast out from the group,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I swallowed hard in an attempt to conceal the lump in my throat,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I wanted to go to sleep and never wake again,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I was afraid and didn’t know what to expect,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I had no one to offer me comfort,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I had no one to hold me tight and tell me they loved me,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I was humiliated,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I was unjustly accused,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I suffered abuse,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I was misunderstood,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I denied the pain in my soul, even to my own self,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I felt so inadequate and ill-equipped for the task,
You were there
And You covered me.

When what I attempted ended in failure,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I was betrayed by one I confided in,
You were there
And You covered me.

When shame was all I knew to the very core of my being,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I had no defense and no one to plead my case,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I was guilty as charged and powerless to resist,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I was rejected once again by one I believed to be true,
You were there
And You covered me.

When I tried hard to fight back the tears,
You were there
And You covered me.

When, at last, I could no longer contain the cries,
You were there
And You covered me.

When all I could utter were silent screams,
You were there
And You covered me.

When my fists were clenched in unmitigated rage with no understanding of why,
You were there
And You covered me.

When my anger turned inward on myself,
You were there
And You covered me.

When anger turned inward grew into self-hatred,
You were there
And You covered me.

When at last You revealed the anger I felt was directed at You,
You remained
And You covered me.

As I look back
I am only beginning to see
You were there.

Always
Faithful
Abiding
Long-suffering
Patient

And all the while…
You covered me.

Never at any moment
Did You turn Your face from me
Leaving me to my own.

Not for one second
Was I out of Your sight
Isolated
Cut-off
Rejected
Abandoned

No!
No!
A thousand times no!

For You were always there
And You covered me.

~ Laurie Pontious-Andrews

About unabashedhope

The name Unabashed Hope comes from my favorite poem by Emily Dickinson. Unabashed means not embarrassed, disconcerted or ashamed. I believe Emily's poem, Hope is the Thing with Feathers, says it best: Hope is the thing with feathers That perches in the soul, And sings the tune without the words, And never stops at all, And sweetest in the gale is heard; And sore must be the storm That could abash the little bird That kept so many warm. I've heard it in the chilliest land And on the strangest sea; Yet, never, in extremity, It asked a crumb of me.

Leave a Reply

