The Old Rusty Shed

Standard

The Old Rusty Shed

Accused.
Assailed.
Cursed.
Rejected.

What was the charge?
What had I done?
Speechless.
Motionless.

Scorned.
Betrayed.
Outcast.
Forsaken.

Abandoned.
Despairing.
Defeated.
Broken.

Anger.
Rage.
Resentment.
Hatred.

Surrounded.
Alone.
Public place.
Private war.

I hate you.
I can’t hate you.
I hate me.
I am bad.

But I’m not bad.
I’ll show you.
I’m good.
I’m not what you say I am.

I’ll prove it to you.
I’m better than you.
I’m not you.
I’m me.

Me!

~ Laurie Pontious-Andrews

About unabashedhope

The name Unabashed Hope comes from my favorite poem by Emily Dickinson. Unabashed means not embarrassed, disconcerted or ashamed. I believe Emily's poem, Hope is the Thing with Feathers, says it best: Hope is the thing with feathers That perches in the soul, And sings the tune without the words, And never stops at all, And sweetest in the gale is heard; And sore must be the storm That could abash the little bird That kept so many warm. I've heard it in the chilliest land And on the strangest sea; Yet, never, in extremity, It asked a crumb of me.

Leave a Reply

