Everlasting Love

Standard

Everlasting Love

You have always been there.
You’ve watched as I reached out
In vain to false idols
Trying to gain the love
And acceptance my soul craved.

You knew they would only cause me pain.
It grieved Your heart as You watched
Me give myself time and time again
To an idol that would only break my heart
And add another wound to
My already scarred and marred soul.

All the while You stood by,
Calling out to me, wooing me,
And drawing me to You.
You wanted me more than
I will ever want You.
You loved me more than
I will ever be able to love You.
You waited, patiently,
Sometimes aching in pain
Over my choices,
Aways making the same offer to me.

An Everlasting Love.
One without end.
One that would fill the void in my soul.
One that would bind up every wound
And heal every scar.
One that would meet every need
I would ever have.
One that would never fail,
Never abandon,
And never leave me on my own.

Together we are killing
The pain of yesterday.
We are crying the tears
That have never been cried.
You are comforting places
That have never been touched
And healing places
That have long been infected.
You are gently bringing life
And restoration to the painful places
Of my soul.

It is the Everlasting Love
That I have always longed for,
Craved, sought, and cried out for.
It is You!
My Everlasting Love.

~ Laurie Pontious-Andrews

About unabashedhope

The name Unabashed Hope comes from my favorite poem by Emily Dickinson. Unabashed means not embarrassed, disconcerted or ashamed. I believe Emily's poem, Hope is the Thing with Feathers, says it best: Hope is the thing with feathers That perches in the soul, And sings the tune without the words, And never stops at all, And sweetest in the gale is heard; And sore must be the storm That could abash the little bird That kept so many warm. I've heard it in the chilliest land And on the strangest sea; Yet, never, in extremity, It asked a crumb of me.

Leave a Reply

