Waves and Billows

Standard

Tossing.
Turning.
Restless.
Anxious.

Should have.
Could have.
Why didn’t I?
Why couldn’t I?

Pain.
Hurts.
Suffering.
Sin.

You’ve seen the wrong I’ve done.
Wrongs done to me.
The pain I’ve caused.
The pain I’ve endured.

You’ve recorded all.
You’ve never left my side.
You’ve held me close.
Saving every tear.

I may feel as though I’m drowning
Underneath the weight
Of these waves and billows
Never to catch my breath,

But the truth is I am being
Cleansed of every secret sin
Released from every bond
And healed of all my pain.

~ Laurie Pontious-Andrews

About unabashedhope

The name Unabashed Hope comes from my favorite poem by Emily Dickinson. Unabashed means not embarrassed, disconcerted or ashamed. I believe Emily's poem, Hope is the Thing with Feathers, says it best: Hope is the thing with feathers That perches in the soul, And sings the tune without the words, And never stops at all, And sweetest in the gale is heard; And sore must be the storm That could abash the little bird That kept so many warm. I've heard it in the chilliest land And on the strangest sea; Yet, never, in extremity, It asked a crumb of me.

3 responses »

    • I actually just started mine a few weeks ago so I’m on a learning curve myself. 🙂 I would say the best advice is to write about what is important to you and it looks like that’s what you’ve been doing so kudos to you! Best wishes on your endeavors!!

Leave a Reply

